Change my heart.

Abba

Today, Jonathan Edwards is my pastor as I attempt to make my way through his work “The End for Which God Created the World.” I am trying to take the study of this work with at least as much seriousness and studiousness as I would a college subject. I am taking notes and praying that Your Spirit would give me revelation. Here are some key points that I pulled out of this first section:

1) To determine the affair of Your last end in the creation of the world, it must be primarily guided by revelation. 

2) Because we receive ALL from You, entirely and perfectly, it follows to say that we can add nothing to You.

3) Your greatest respect and ultimate end is Yourself as all things else in regards to worthiness, importance and excellence are perfectly nothing in comparison to You.

Now here is where confession comes in: It bothers me that You respect Yourself more than me.

I am embarrassed to even formulate the thought, but you already know the evil and wicked murmurs that lurk in my heart. What better way to experience freedom and revelation than through confession?

As you know, I am obsessed with myself. I care very much that others love me and think much of me. I am mortified to admit that I even extend this idolatry to You, Abba my Daddy and the Living God. My flesh wants even You to care more about me than Yourself.

Abba, I cry out! Please forgive me and deliver me. I hate this wicked lie that lingers in my heart. There is this accusing voice in my heart that cries, “See! He is arrogant and prideful–see how he prefers himself to you.” But I ask You to silence the voice of the enemy with Your Truth. Paul writes the following:

“For from him and through Him and to Him are all things. To him be glory forever. Amen.” Romans 11:36.

All things were created by You and for You. I choose to believe Truth rather than lies. I ask, Spirit, for You to change my heart as You work out my salvation.

As I consider the adultery and idolatry, I am once again reminded of Your saving grace on the cross. I join Paul in declaring, “Oh, the depth of the riches and wisdom and knowledge of You! How unsearchable are Your judgments and how inscrutable Your ways!”

Thank You that You make something beautiful out of me.

Your daughter,

The Girl in the Corner

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

