Works

All my life, I have been convinced I can earn things. I worked to be a varsity starter, break records, graduate at the top of my class and…prove to God that I was worth saving.

For over a decade, I have pursued such works with zeal. I’ve gone to over a dozen countries preaching the gospel, discipled hundreds of teens and lived in what of the darkest counties in the nation.

What have I to show myself? Does God love me more now?

Through His word, He is showing me that He loves me completely and perfectly right now. He actually isn’t impressed with all my vain attempts to earn a love that He has freely given. Quite the contrary. In fact, He has really convicted me about all my works and shown me the poor motives often behind them.

So what am I supposed to do, just sit here??!!

Today, I found what I am to work at:

Then they said to him, “What must we do, to do be doing the works of God?” Jesus answered them, “This is the work of God, that you believe in him whom he has sent (John 6:29).””

Did you catch that? I am to work at believing in the Son of Man–in everything he did, said and established. In others, I am to work for more faith.

Now the Bible clearly teaches that faith is also a gift from God:

For by grace you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God, not a result of works, so that no one may boast (Eph 2:8-9).

In other words, do you want to do ‘works’ for God–have faith. You want to have faith? Can’t work for it. You’ve got to go to the source, God himself.

For me, I am left with this realization: There is absolutely nothing I can work for that doesn’t require the partnership and unending grace of God. Wow. Nada.

This is a bit scary for me, but oh so freeing! I don’t have to worry whether or not my works are impressing Him–I can just know they aren’t! However, when He and I work together to glorify His name–wow! That moves HIs heart! No, it doesn’t earn me more or less love, but it does mean something to Him.

That’s enough for me.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

